The Finance and Administration Committee will be holding public forums across the state to consult with Queenslanders about the introduction of four year terms for the Queensland Parliament.

The Chair of the Committee, Ms Di Farmer MP, said that the Committee has been asked to consider the advantages and disadvantages of four year parliamentary terms and report back to the house with recommendations for how four years terms might be introduced in Queensland.

‘The introduction of four year terms is an important issue for all Queenslanders to consider as it has direct implications for how your Parliament operates in Queensland’. ‘Under the Queensland Constitution the maximum term of a parliament is three years, but the Premier of Queensland can call a general election at any time within that three year period, subject to the agreement of the Governor.’

‘Importantly any change to parliamentary terms requires an amendment to the constitution which can only be done through a referendum. For this reason it is important to the Committee that we hear from as many Queenslanders as possible to help frame the committee’s recommendations’.

Ms Farmer said the committee would be holding public forums in a number of metropolitan and regional areas including Toowoomba, the Gold and Sunshine Coasts, Mount Isa, Cairns, Townsville, Mackay, Rockhampton, Emerald and Maryborough.

These forums are an opportunity to hear more about what is being proposed and for members of the public to ask questions and tell the committee what they think about proposed changes to parliamentary terms.

All members of the community and stakeholder groups with an interest in hearing more about the introduction of four year terms in Queensland Parliament are invited to attend any of the public forums.

The Committee are also inviting written submissions from interested persons and organisations addressing the terms of reference.

Submissions close at 4:00pm on Tuesday 20 October 2015. More information about the inquiry, its terms of reference and how to make a submissions can be found on the committee’s internet site at: